The Memorandum of Understanding on the implementation of the EEA financial mechanism 2009-2014 between Iceland, the Principality of Liechtenstein, the Kingdom of Norway and the Republic of Estonia was signed on June 10th, 2011. According to the memorandum, Estonia receives altogether 21,275,000 Euros as a grant from Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway.

The overall objectives of the EEA Grants are the following:

  • to contribute to the reduction of economic and social disparities in the European Economic Area
  • to contribute to the strengthening of bilateral relations between Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway and the beneficiary states

The allocation by programme areas is the following:

Integrated Marine and Inland Water Management 6,900,000 Euros

Funds for Non-governmental Organisations 2,300,000 Euros

Children and Youth at Risk 6,505,000 Euros

Conservation and Revitalisation of Cultural and Natural Heritage  4,510,000 Euros

Scholarships 600,000 Euros